What’s a Cloud Philosopher?

A Cloud Philosopher is someone who shares content online that is helpful, insightful, uplifting or thought provoking. From twitter to tumblr, just about anyone and everyone is, or can be, a Cloud Philosopher.

Here’s the story of why I chose to call myself Cloud Philosopher

IMG_4313

When I was first thinking about starting a YouTube channel, I was hesitant but excited and when I was shyly telling one of my beautiful friends about the idea, she was so enthusiastic and empowering. Laura encouraged me to pick a more exciting job title than youtuber and that evening I couldn’t think of anything so naturally I googled it, and a fun random job title generator came up.

Whilst absentmindedly clicking through, Cloud Philosopher popped up. And it grabbed my attention like my own reflection in a shop window (you know you do it too). For just a moment, I thought “wow, man that’s cool”. And then proceeded to doubt myself with all the un-fun thoughts like “that’s so pretentious” and “no-one will like that”.

So I started my channel under Emily Alexandra (do you know how many channels there are called Emily Alexandra? A lot.). But couldn’t stop thinking about being a Cloud Philosopher. So much so that it ended up on my vision board to inspire me to keep making the videos.

Fortunately, in a rare moment of independence and pride for my efforts, I just made the decision to go for it. What matters is that I love it, and the name embodies what I’m about, and reminds me to keep working towards being my best self. Which is really what this life is all about isn’t it?

 

Leave a comment